A Major Change (already)

I most certainly don’t mean to set expectations and then change my approach. Well, this is not true, actually. Let me elaborate:

When I started this blog, I was curious and limited in resource. Curious about the world of pinhole yet limited in the era of digital. This is why I opted in spending the last half of my summer walking around with a cheap Holga lens attached to my Canon. After a while and many snaps, it dawned on me that as much fun as this lens is, I would rather compose with no viewfinder than with a limited view, see below for what I mean:

That black you see is not beautiful vignetting but rather the inside of the lens itself. Yes, I do try to compose with this in mind now. That is part of my workflow in using this lens, but I would not trust this for high end work.  This led me to begin research on other lenses/caps or even DIY methods to use. I did find a company that looked promising, Rising, but seemed a bit expensive and only available through a Canadian Distributor. Their lens looked promising but it was here, at this moment, I found my next camera:

The Zero Image 120 Film Camera

I must take a moment and apologize for the poor picture – I was in a wee bit of rush (plus I am quite terrible at still life). This camera utilizes 120mm film. Yes. Film. I am not crazy. But I do remember not quite long ago telling you I do things in life backwards. Fitting, that I would go from digital to film. I won’t bother you with long details right now. This blog is long enough, but I will tell you it is absolutely stunning. Teak wood, brass knobs. Signed and numbered limited edition. This is handmade, in China, buy a master craftsman. You can tell a lot of time and thought went into this camera. My next post will be more about the camera itself and my master plan for global photographical domination.

Right now, though, I think I should go help my wife prepare dinner. Cheers!

2 comments

  1. Congrats on purchasing a Zero Image 612, granted I realize I’m a few months late in saying so. They are splendid cameras as I’m sure you’ve already realized. There is quite a dedicated following for this camera, especially on Flickr. We are a helpful friendly bunch. Look forward to following you and seeing what great images you create with your pinhole camera.

    • Hi jsodphotography!

      I am very happy so far with the camera, it has really opened/challenged my whole approach to photography and has made it exciting again. I guess I was burning out with all the technical aspects of digital (which is still awesome). I did recently join the flickr group and will make sure to visit often and leave comments/interact! Thanks for the invite and the comment!

      Best,

      Evan

Leave a Reply

Talent Flush Blog

www.talentflush.com

Pinholistically Yours!

Pictures and Photographic experiments by Souhade Guermache

Here Be Lizards -

Gerald Cummins - Photography

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Cake Stories by Lauren

Cake Stories - I make them! Children's Cupcake Parties, Adult Classes and Events

Cocktails and Country Tales

a lifestyle and culture blog

The Vintage Guide To Britain

Vintage Events, Vintage Hire, Vintage Clothes, Vintage Markets, Vintage Cars - Vintage & Handmade

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

When Life Hands You Lemons...

Figuring life out, one post at a time.

MY DREAM PLACE

PHILIPPINES

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Blaž Kutin

Photography Diary

Wouter Brandsma 荷蘭

Visual thoughts by Wouter Brandsma

marsblackvintage

pictures.thoughts.music.art. life. whatever inspires...

light through a hole

pinhole photography by jesús joglar

