Captree State Park Panoramic

The last time I wrote, it was right during Hurricane Sandy.  Since then, the Long Island landscape has forever changed. I sort of feel that I should be out there documenting it, but access to the beaches are limited, and gas around here, if you haven’t heard, is scarce. So driving around just to take photos is sort of not an option right now.

What I do have for you all, though, is a photo of Captree State Park a few weeks before the storm hit. It is home to the biggest fishing fleet on Long Island. But I prefer to turn right at the roundabout and go towards the more remote areas near the shore, away from the holiday trippers. The park is located on the easternmost end of Jones Beach Island, and overlooks the Fire Island Inlet and the westernmost section of Fire Island, partly in the Town of Babylon.

I just like to go there and unwind when I can. Yet I often forget about Captree since just down the road is Robert Moses, offering the real Ocean experience. Here is a 6×15 panoramic I shot using my Zero Image pinhole. It was shot with Kodak Ektar Color Negative film, and the exposure was 3 seconds long.

Image

As always, thanks for reading and checking out my pinhole works!

5 comments

Leave a comment

Pinholistically Yours!

Pictures and Photographic experiments by Souhade Guermache

Here Be Lizards -

Gerald Cummins - Photography

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Cake Stories by Lauren

Cake Stories - I make them! Children's Cupcake Parties, Adult Classes and Events

The Vintage Guide To Britain

Vintage Events, Vintage Hire, Vintage Clothes, Vintage Markets, Vintage Cars - Vintage & Handmade

Ed Mooney Photography

The official blog of Ed Mooney Photography. Dad of 3, Photographer, Martial Artist, Gym Rat & Blogger. Exploring the historical sites of Ireland.

When Life Hands You Lemons...

Figuring life out, one post at a time.

MY DREAM PLACE

PHILIPPINES

Blaž Kutin

Photography Diary

Wouter Brandsma

Visual thoughts

marsblackvintage

pictures.thoughts.music.art. life. whatever inspires...

light through a hole

pinhole photography by jesús joglar

The Uknown Project

photo essays by ben reynolds