I WANT TO PUNCH HURRICANE SANDY IN THE DAMN EYE

“What happened at the traffic circle is we actually saw two lanes of the roadway fall into the sand, into the ocean. We’re talking about cement slabs that really collapsed,” said George Gorman of the New York State Parks Department. “In addition at Field Number 5, there is no beachfront. The beachfront was taken out to sea.”
~CBS News

I really am starting to feel ocean withdrawal. I miss the salty minerals, the sound of surf, overall tranquil moods that only the ocean can offer. I wish I can get down to Robert Moses, but judging from the news quote above, it is going to be a long time before I can find myself there again. Damn you Sandy, damn you to hell.

I love the summer months at Robert Moses, but I live for the colder beach experience when there are only a few lonely souls out and about. Bundled up, thermos of strong tea and camera in hand (or on tripod) I have always shared a kindred relationship with my fellow winter-beach combers.

What brings a solitary soul down to the ocean in the middle of winter? The Ray Bradbury lover in me tends to think of them as the ghoulish cast of “The Crowd”, which deals with the a supernatural crowd of people who appear at different car accidents. The romantic in me believes these same people are on a pilgrimage, searching for serenity and purpose in a life of uncertainty and unanswered questions.

Whatever reasons that we may share, one thing is for sure, Sandy freaking ripped it away from us. I am glad that I have two rolls of film being developed of my last time there, the Friday before the storm hit.

Here are a few photos from the fall, hope you all enjoy!

2 comments

  1. Sorry to hear that Sandy did a number on your favorite beach. Mother Nature sure can be a cold hearted bitch sometimes eh? I too like venturing to the beach in the winter time, it feels more raw and real in many ways. Plus as you say the crowds are much less when its not sunny and warm out.

Leave a Reply

Talent Flush Blog

www.talentflush.com

Pinholistically Yours!

Pictures and Photographic experiments by Souhade Guermache

Here Be Lizards -

Gerald Cummins - Photography

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Cake Stories by Lauren

Cake Stories - I make them! Children's Cupcake Parties, Adult Classes and Events

Cocktails and Country Tales

a lifestyle and culture blog

The Vintage Guide To Britain

Vintage Events, Vintage Hire, Vintage Clothes, Vintage Markets, Vintage Cars - Vintage & Handmade

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

When Life Hands You Lemons...

Figuring life out, one post at a time.

MY DREAM PLACE

PHILIPPINES

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Blaž Kutin

Photography Diary

Wouter Brandsma 荷蘭

Visual thoughts by Wouter Brandsma

marsblackvintage

pictures.thoughts.music.art. life. whatever inspires...

light through a hole

pinhole photography by jesús joglar

